The 38th Independent Spirit Awards.

That left slim pickings for the rest with “Aftersun” (A24) taking home Best First Feature, John Patton Ford winning Best First Screenplay for Emily The Criminal” (Roadside Attractions) while Florian Hoffmeister’s win for Best Cinematography was the only prize that “Tár” (Focus Features) took home.

“The Cathedral” (Mubi) deservedly won the John Cassavetes Award (Given to the Best Feature made for under $1,000,000), “Joyland” (Pakistan/USA) caused a minor upset by winning the Best International Film while “All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” (Neon) took home Best Documentary.

The Robert Altman Award (given to the director, casting director, and ensemble cast) had already been bestowed on Sarah Polley’s “Women Talking (MGM/United Artists Releasing).


To no one’s surprise A24 and “Everything Everywhere All at Once” had almost universal control of the 38th Independent Spirit Awards taking home seven namely: Best Feature, Best Director (Daniels), Best Lead Performance (Michelle Yeoh), Best Supporting Performance (Ke Huy Quan), Best Breakthrough Performance (Stephanie Hsu), Best Screenplay (Daniels) and Best Editing.

Best Feature

“Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)

“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER

“Our Father, the Devil” (Resolve Media)

“Tár” (Focus Features)

“Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)


Best Director

Todd Field – “Tár” (Focus Features)

Kogonada – “After Yang” (A24)

Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER

Sarah Polley – “Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)

Halina Reijn – “Bodies Bodies Bodies” (A24)


Best Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett – “Tár” (Focus Features)

Dale Dickey – “A Love Song” (Bleecker Street)

Mia Goth – “Pearl” (A24)

Regina Hall – “Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.” (Focus Features)

Paul Mescal – “Aftersun” (A24)

Aubrey Plaza – “Emily the Criminal” (Roadside Attractions)

Jeremy Pope – “The Inspection” (A24)

Taylor Russell – “Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)

Andrea Riseborough – “To Leslie” (Momentum Pictures)

Michelle Yeoh – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER


Best Supporting Performance

Jamie Lee Curtis – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24)

Brian Tyree Henry – “Causeway” (A24/Apple Original Films)

Nina Hoss – “Tár” (Focus Features)

Brian D’Arcy James – “The Cathedral” (Mubi)

Ke Huy Quan – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER

Trevante Rhodes – “Bruiser” (Onyx Collective)

Theo Rossi – “Emily the Criminal” (Roadside Attractions)

Mark Rylance – “Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)

Jonathan Tucker – “Palm Trees and Power Lines” (Momentum Pictures)

Gabrielle Union – “The Inspection” (A24)


Best Breakthrough Performance

Frankie Corio – “Aftersun” (A24)

Garcija Filipovic – “Murina” (Kino Lorber)

Stephanie Hsu – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER

Lily McInerny – “Palm Trees and Power Lines” (Momentum Pictures)

Daniel Zolghadri – “Funny Pages” (A24)


Best Screenplay

“After Yang” (A24) – Kogonada

“Catherine Called Birdy” (Amazon Studios) – Lena Dunham

“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert WINNER

“Tár” (Focus Features) – Todd Field

“Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing) – Sarah Polley

Emily the Criminal

Best First Screenplay

“Bodies Bodies Bodies” (A24) – Sarah DeLappe, Kristen Roupenian

“Emergency” (Amazon Studios) – K.D. Dávila

“Emily the Criminal” (Roadside Attractions) – John Patton Ford WINNER

“Fire Island” (Searchlight Pictures) – Joel Kim Booster

“Palm Trees and Power Lines” (Momentum Pictures) – Jamie Dack, Audrey Findlay


Best First Feature

“Aftersun” (A24) WINNER

“Emily the Criminal” (Roadside Attractions)

“The Inspection” (A24)

“Murina” (Kino Lorber)

“Palm Trees and Power Lines” (Momentum Pictures)

The Cathedral

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $1,000,000)

“The African Desperate” (Mubi)

“A Love Song” (Bleecker Street)

“The Cathedral” (Mubi) WINNER

“Holy Emy” (Utopie Films)

“Something in the Dirt” (XYZ Films)


Best Cinematography

“Aftersun” (A24) – Gregory Oke

“Murina” (Kino Lorber) – Hélène Louvart

“Neptune Frost” (Kino Lorber) – Anisia Uzeyman

“Pearl” (A24) – Eliot Rockett

“Tár” (Focus Features) – Florian Hoffmeister WINNER

Best Documentary

“A House Made of Splinters” (Madman Entertainment)

“All that Breathes” (HBO)

“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” (Neon) WINNER

“Midwives” (POV)

“Riotsville, U.S.A.” (IFC Films)


Best Editing

“Aftersun” (A24) – Blair McClendon

“The Cathedral” (Mubi) – Ricky D’Ambrose

“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) – Paul Rogers WINNER

“Marcel the Shell with Shoes On” (A24) – Dean Fleischer Camp, Nick Paley

“Tár” (Focus Features) – Monika Willi


Best International Film

“Corsage” (Austria/Luxembourg/France/Belgium/Italy/England)

“Joyland” (Pakistan/USA) WINNER

“Leonor Will Never Die” (Philippines)

“Return to Seoul” (South Korea/France/Belgium/Romania)

“Saint Omer” (France)

Women Talking

Robert Altman Award (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and ensemble cast)

“Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing) – Sarah Polley (director), John Buchan, Jason Knight (casting directors), Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter (ensemble cast).


A24: 8

Roadside Attractions: 1

Focus Features:1



MGM/United Artists Releasing:1

Share this post

We would love to hear your comments you can add them below!


You may also like…

2022-2023 BAFTA Winners.

2022-2023 BAFTA Winners.

The big winner of the evening was "All Quiet on the Western Front" with seven awards including Best Picture and Best...

read more

Subscribe for the latest reviews right in your inbox!